Font Size





Menu Style


Euscorpius Occasional Publications in Scorpiology

  • PDF

This paper continues a comprehensive province-by-province field study of the scorpion fauna of Iran by the RRLS team under Shahrokh Navidpour. The study in-cludes documentation of biotope diversity, revisitation of previously known sites, some of them type localities, and sampling of all the encountered scorpion species. All specimens are collected with the help of UV light (night catch). However, no field work has been done on the islands belonging to the province. Hormozgan is one of the 31 provinces of Iran. It lies in the southern part of the country and is bordered by Fars and Kerman provinces in the north, Sistan and Baluchistan provinces in the east, Bushehr province in the west and Persian Gulf in the south. Hormozgan covers 70,697 km2 (27,296 sq mi) and its provincial capital is Bandar Abbas. The province includes 14 islands in the Persian Gulf and 1,000 km (620 mi) of coastline. Eleven major cities are Bandar Abbas, Bandar Lengeh, Hajiabbad, Minab, Qeshm, Jask, Bastak, Bandar Khamir, Parsian, Rudan, and Abumusa. The province consists of 21 counties (districts) and 69 municipalities, and has 2,046 villages. The terrain is primarily mountainous, consisting of the southern tip of the Zagros Range. The climate is very hot, with summer temperatures some-times exceeding 49°C. There is very little precipitation year round.

FileFile sizeDownloadsLast modified
Download this file (hormozgan_170.pdf)hormozgan_170.pdf4875 Kb97330/10/13 11:13

Last Updated on Wednesday, 30 October 2013 11:14

You are here: Paper and Publication English Paper Euscorpius Occasional Publications in Scorpiology